Heather Norris ’12

Heather_NorrisHeather Norris, the Pioneer’s Sports Editor from 2011-2012, began a new position in spring 2015 with the Baltimore Sun Media Group as a staff reporter for the Catonsville Times and Arbutus Times, covering community news in Baltimore’s southwest suburbs. Before that, she worked as a local news reporter for the Baltimore Jewish Times.

Norris said that although she covered several topics, “Most of my time is spent reporting on local politics, which is exactly what I want to do with my career, so it’s a perfect situation. I covered the J Street conference where I got to watch Joe Biden speak. That was really cool.”

Norris received her master’s from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School in June 2013. While she was there, she worked as an instructional associate, or a TA, for the Introduction to Multimedia Storytelling class all freshmen and new students in Newhouse are required to take. She was in charge of teaching the technical part of the class, where students learned how to shoot and edit video.

She said, “I turned down a job offer covering high school sports in New Jersey [right after graduating from Post] in order to go to Syracuse, and I’m really happy I did. I graduated from LIU confident in myself as a sports writer, but now I am comfortable reporting on anything. Plus, it was kind of nice to be so close to home for a little bit.”

 

Categories: Alumni

Leave a Reply

